I can literally count on my fingers the number of times I have been on a plane. I would not say that i am particularly picky when it comes to who I'm sitting by. Now the only reason I confidently say this is that I've been lucky enough to not get the much talked about individual who never shuts up during the flight. But for anyone who has been unfortunate enough to have been in that situation, then you might like the fact that KLM is testing out a new program called Meet and Seat which basically allows ticket-holders to upload details from their Facebook and LinkedIn profiles and use that data to choose who they would like to sit by.
So here's the rundown on how it works if you would prefer not to read the whole article. If you have a confirmed reservation and are willing have your booking connected to your social profile, you choose which part of your information you would share. You would then be presented with seat maps that you where others who have shared their profiles are seated. Finally you can then reserve the neat next to anyone who seems interesting to you. That person would then receive a message with your profile details.
As companies seek new ways to utilize social media, it's fair to say that even more interesting ways would be thought of to integrate social media to engage customers as well as improve brand image. I dont know how sucessful this program might be, but I'm sure there would be people willing to try it out!
2/29/2012 12:29:56 am

Although I like the idea of Meet and Seat for that ideal seatmate, I'm not sure if age, gender, and a certain musical taste would account for the fact that this person has a screaming child on his or her lap (conveniently undisclosed profile information). Whether this program is conducted via Facebook profiles or LinkedIn, the limited nature of the information provided forces travelers to make a decision based on superficial details alone.

Reply
naa
2/29/2012 05:30:15 am

Thats so true James. We always have a choice as to what information we put out for others to see so there would definitely be some superficiality about some travelers. Putting the best impression of yourself to attract an ideal seatmate would probably be foremost in most people's minds. I dont know if the developers would come up with a strategy to overcome that.

Reply
steph
2/29/2012 02:43:19 am

That's interesting. I'm just worried some hot ones will be overbooked, too popular to sit next to! LOL

Reply
naa
2/29/2012 05:27:06 am

Lol. I'm pretty sure you would still find some!

Reply



Leave a Reply.