One word, Pinterest. For something i had never heard of, it was surprising to notice it more than twice yesterday, first in an article by Mashable's ceo Pete Cashmore about why Pinterest is 2012's hottest website. Pinterest was launched almost two years ago and was under the radar until the Silicon Vally news sites made mention of it. If like me you hadnt heard of it until now, Pinterest is, according to its website, a virtual pinboard or in the words of Pete Cashmore, "a visual social network that organizes images by topic and lets you reshare with just one click." Pinterest seems more interesting than I have made it sound so the less written the better. It could be the new big thing sooner than later so check it out here!
2/8/2012 06:48:31 am

I was really interested in your post as I too just discovered Pinterest. And, by the way, I asked MiKE's Steve Glynn if he had heard of it and he had not.) I also found it through Mashable and have looked at it several times this week. I haven't tried to use it yet, but I think that's what it's going to take to really get it. Right now, I'm not sure what's appealing about it -- except that it's clearly very visually rich. The fact that all of these social media sites ask you to create a profile makes me a bit tired. Really? Another self-portrait? Does anyone care? Let me know as your opinion of Pininterest evolves, please!

Reply
naa
2/8/2012 07:00:56 am

I am glad to not be the only one who hadnt heard of pininterest :). I think you hit the nail right on the head because Its appeal lies in the visual nature.I would be amazed to see a social media site that does not require for a profile to be created! I also have not tried to use it yet but i will definitely keep you updated of my opinion and thanks for your comment!

Reply
stephanie
2/8/2012 09:07:18 am

This is interesting. I fe actually used some similar functions on Renren.com it was like a map of my life in that certain period of time.

Reply
Josh
2/15/2012 12:05:52 am

My wife is addicted to Pinterest. What I find interesting about it is that if I remember correctly you have to have an invite to join?

Reply
naa
2/15/2012 12:16:49 am

hi josh, you remember correctly. It's currently has an invite- only joining option but if you dont know anyone on pinterest, you can request an invite from them. I have no idea why it is currently an invite-only but it is interesting because it certainly hasnt deterred people from joining.

Reply



Leave a Reply.